The Medical Mission

About Us

The Medical Mission Hall of Fame Foundation honors individuals for their noble humanitarian efforts by annual public awards ceremonies. It is hoped that the commendable efforts of those who serve can act as an inspiration to others to actively participate in or support medical mission work activities and programs.
  • Lawrence V. Conway,
    President: Medical Mission Hall of Fame Foundation

  • Lawrence V. Conway, Ph.D., President
  • Ira A. Abrahamson, Jr.
  • Robert G. Croskey
  • James D. Diller, MD
  • Glenn Geelhoed
  • Daniel T. Johnson
  • Christoher J. Kelly
  • Thomas Pigott
  • Joseph Scazerro


  • Andrew B. Casabianca, DMD, MD
  • Lawrence V. and Ruth B. Conway Trust
  • Carolyn Gregory
  • S. Zaheer Hasan, MD
  • Samina Hasan, MD
  • Key Bank
  • Merrill Lynch & Co. Foundation Inc.
  • Medical Mission Hall of Fame Foundation
  • Dorothy M. Price
  • Joseph A. Scazzero, PhD


  • Bowling Green State University
  • Christ Presbyterian Church
  • Eli Lilly and Company
  • Lourdes University
  • Maumee Valley Presbytery
  • Merck & Company, Inc.
  • Owens Community College
  • Parke-Davis
  • Pfizer Inc.
  • Schering-Plough
  • Toledo Area Ministries
  • The George Washington University Medical Center
  • The University of Toledo
  • The University of Toledo Medical Center
  • The University of Toledo Students for Medical Missions


  • Judge Andy Devine, Toledo, Ohio
  • Mike DeWine, Cedarville, Ohio
  • Hope Taft, Columbus, Ohio
  • Cynthia Ford, Toledo, Ohio
  • David Ives, Executive Director, Albert Schweitzer Institute, Hamden, Connecticut
  • Daniel T. Johnson PhD, President Emeritus, The University of Toledo
  • Marcy Kaptur, Congresswoman, Ninth Congressional District, Ohio
  • The Rev. Robert G. Croskery D. Min, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Ira A. Abrahamson, Jr. MD, Emeritus Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Harold Adolph, MD, Chief of Surgery at SIM Galmi Hospital
  • Editha Canete-Miguel, MD, FPCP, Founder and Executive Director, Agape Rural Program, Philippines
  • Dame Aileen Coleman, RN, SCM, BSc, MA, AM, Annor Sanatorium for Chest Diseases, Mafraq, Jordan
  • Lawrence V. Conway, PhD, FASA, President, Medical Mission Hall of Fame Foundation
  • Bernardo Cuevas MD, President, Medical Missions Inc., and Professor of Surgery, Santo Thomas University, Manila, the Philippines
  • James G. Diller, MD, FACS, Chairman, Board of Directors, Diller Foundation
  • Harvey Doorenbos, MD, Holland, Michigan
  • Diane C. Downing, RN, BS, MPH, Primary Care Provider and Community Health Nurse, Congo
  • Paul E. Farmer, MD, PhD, Founding Director,Partners in Health, Boston, Massachusetts
  • Robert L. Foster, MD, Hospital Founder, Surgeon and Medical Director, Zambia and Angola
  • Glenn W. Geelhoed, MD, PhD, MA, DTMH, MPH, FACS, Professor of Surgery, Professor of International Medical Education, Professor of Microbiology and Tropical Medicine, The George Washington University Medical Center, Washington D.C.
  • Jeffery E. Heck, MD, Founder and Chairmen, Board of Directors, Shoulder to Shoulder
  • Richard M. Hodes MD, FACP, Medical Director, American Jewish Joint Distribution Center, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • Peter Hotez, MD, PhD, President, Sabin Vaccine Institute
  • John P. Howe, III, MD, CEO, Project HOPE, Millwood, Virginia
  • S. Amjad Hussain, MD, FRCSC, FACS, Toledo, Ohio
  • Edna Adan Ismail, PhD, SRN Director, Edna Adan Hospital, Somalia
  • Kathleen Magee, M.Ed, MSW, Co-founder and President,
    Operation Smile, Norfolk, Virginia
  • William P. Magee Jr., DDS, MD, FACS, Co-founder and CEO,
    Operation Smile, Norfolk, Virginia
  • Sania Nishtar, SI, FRCP, PhD, Founder, Heartfile, Islamabad, Pakistan
  • Richard Paat, MD, Maumee, Ohio
  • Jean William Pape MD, Director of Gheskio Centers, Port-au-Prince, Haiti Professor of Medicine, Cornell University, New York, New York
  • Pablo Pons, MD & Maria Pons, PhD, Dublin, Ohio, Founders of Midwest Medical Missions
  • Edgar Rodas, MD, FACS and Dolores Reinbach Rodas, Founders, The Cinterandes Foundation, Cuenca, Ecuador
  • Albert G. Roode, MD (Posthumously), Pibor, Sudan
  • Jill Seaman MD, International Medical Relief Fund, Upper Nile, Sudan
  • Bruce C. Steffes, MD, MBA, FACP, FWACS, Pan-African Academy of Christian Surgeons
  • George Varghese, MBBS and Sheila Varghese, MBBS, Lady Willingdon Hospital, Manali, India
  • Sr. Yvonne Veins, RN, MEd, Apostle of the Needy, Sisters of Charity of Montreal, Grey Nuns, Lexington, Massachusetts


  • Paul L. Arndt
  • Thomas R. Ball
  • Evelyn Boston
  • Henry M. Boston
  • Richard Boyer
  • Brian K. and Ethel Bradford
  • Robert J. Brotje Jr.
  • Catherine Ann Conway
  • Gilbert and Ruth Cook
  • Ray Eberts
  • Timothy Field
  • Celia Findlay
  • James Findlay
  • Hugo M. Gregory
  • John Hayes
  • Barbara Herring
  • Henry (Hank) Herschel
  • Theodore F. Horst
  • Dorothy Hussain
  • Ann Lacksonen
  • Ann Minwegen
  • Keith Niehous
  • Samuel D. Parsons
  • William Prebe
  • Joseph Provenzano
  • Frances M. Scazzero
  • Sr. Yvonne Viens

*Memorials have been created to honor in perpetuity those men and women who have made significant and substantial contribution of their time and talents to improving the lives if their sons and daughters and fellow humans in the world.

Inductees of the Medical Mission Hall of Fame have been specially honored by The Board of Trustees of The University of Toledo. Each inductee has been designated as a “Distinguished Global Faculty of The University of Toledo.”

There are two types of Medical Mission Hall of Fame Foundation Awards:
  • Individuals are recognized for making significant and substantial contributions to advancing the quality of life of their brothers and sisters throughout our world.
  • Organizations are recognized for the extraordinary achievements of their professional staff and volunteer workers who have provided compassionate humanitarian health care assistance to the underserved.